Update on Negotiations

On 28th September 2018 the ACP Group of States and the EU began negotiations for a successor Agreement to the Cotonou Agreement which comes to an end in February 2020. This section contains all you need to know about the negotiations.





PRESS RELEASE: SG Chambas receives Crans Montana Foundation Prize

Printer-friendly versionPDF version


ACP Press Release – Friday 24 June 2011: African, Caribbean and Pacific (ACP) Secretary-General Dr. Mohamed Ibn Chambas today received the prestigious Crans Montana Foundation Prize along with other global leaders in Brussels, Belgium.

Dr. Chambas expressed his gratitude to the Crans Montana Forum Foundation for such an honour, especially when he was in a distinguished company of those that received the honour this year and those before them.

Dr Chambas was honoured with the award during the closing of the 22nd Crans Montana Forum, for his dedication to the advancement of democracy and justice in Africa during his time as the head of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) — before joining the ACP Group as its Secretary-General early last year.

He said he felt deeply touched by the gesture and was inspired to keep doing his modest bid in the advancement of humanity in general — in Africa. Secretary-General Chambas received the award with the former Prime Minister of Romania, Mr. Adrian Nastase; Sri Sri Ravi Shankar, founder of the Art of Living Foundation; and French writer Mr. Tahar Benjelloun.

Meanwhile he paid tribute to African leaders who worked to promote democracy and justice in the continent, in particular, Mr. Habib Benyahia, Secretary-General of the Arab Maghreb Union from Tunisia; and former Prime Minister of Guine, Mr. Lansana Kouyate who were present at the ceremony. Also witnessing the ceremony was the Minister of State and Advisor to the President of Ghana, the Chairman of the ACP Committee of Ambassadors and Ambassador of Nigeria, H.E Mr. Mr. Usman Alhaji Baraya, ACP Ambassadors, staff of the ACP Secretariat and the Ghanaian community in Belgium.

Established in 1989, the Prix de la Fondation recognises people who are committed to social responsibility, contribute to global growth and development. Previous winners include U.S. President Barack Obama and many other global leaders.

The Crans Motana Foundation Prize will be the second Award that Secretary-General Dr Chambas will receive since assuming the leadership of the 79-member strong ACP Group of countries following the German Africa Prize (Deutscher Afrika-Preis 2010) which he received last year in Berlin, Germany.

The Crans Montana Forum is a Swiss International Organization created in Crans Montana (Switzerland) in 1986 with the support and the involvement of Swiss Authorities whose importance and prestige are well-established. It is formally recognised notably for its commitment to contribute to the construction of a more Humane World through global dialogue. It works for the promotion of international cooperation and contributes to global growth which ensures prosperity, justice, equity and security for all.

Avenue Georges Henri 451
B - 1200 Bruxelles - Brussels
Belgique - Belgium
email : info@acp.int
Tel: +32 2 743 06 00
Fax: +32 2 735 55 73
see map/voir plan

ACP Events
« September 2019 »
ACP Public Documents

The ACP Group is a registered trademark. The ACP logo and material on this site are protected by copyright laws and international treaty provisions. Unauthorised use of the ACP logo or copyright material without written permission is punishable by law.